Skip to Main Content

FACULTY

The English Department takes great pride in our combination of award-winning research and deep commitment to students and teaching. Our faculty are top scholars in their fields and have interests in a wide range of specialties in literature, writing, communication, and technology. Special strengths of the department include: literature and culture, composition theory and practice, journalism, and digital communication

Jessica Berman, Professor
and Director of the Dresher Center

berman

Email: jberman@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 309 (x52054)

——————————————————————————————-

Ryan Bloom, Senior Lecturer

ryan_bloom_headshot-150x150

Email: rbloom2@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 439 (X52849)

——————————————————————————————-

Lindsay DiCuirci, Assistant Professor

dicuirciEmail: dicuirci@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 406 (x52585)

——————————————————————————————-

Raphael Falco, Professor
and Director of the English Honors and MEMS Programs

Email: falco@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 415 (x52919)

——————————————————————————————-

Michael Fallon, Senior Lecturer

Email: fallon@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 438 (x52021)

——————————————————————————————-

Jean Fernandez, Associate Professor

Email: jfernand@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 410 (x52166)

——————————————————————————————-

Jennifer Maher, Associate Professor

Email: jmaher@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 401 (x52040)

——————————————————————————————-

Lucille McCarthy, Professor
and Director of the MA Program

mccarthy

Email: mccarthy@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 402 (x53923)

——————————————————————————————-

Kathyrn McKinley, Professor

mckinley

Email: kmckinle@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 408 (x52006)

——————————————————————————————-

Michele Osherow, Associate Professor

osherow

Email: mosherow@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 302 (x58639)

——————————————————————————————-

Lia Purpura, Artist in Residence

purpura

Email: lpurpura@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 308 (x52295)

——————————————————————————————-

Jody Shipka, Associate Professor

shipka_photo-150x150

Email: shipka@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 301 (x52019)

——————————————————————————————-

Sally Shivnan, Senior Lecturer
and Associate Director of Writing & Rhetoric

Email: shivnan@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 429 (x52712)

——————————————————————————————-

Orianne Smith, Associate Professor
and Department Chair

smith

Email: osmith@umbc.edu
Office: PAHB 433 (x52138)